Worship Song

You give me spiritual highs
Let me tell you all the reasons why
Think you’re one of a kind.
Here’s to you
The one that always pulls us through
‘Cause you did what you had to do
You’re one of a kind
Your my god and you’re mine.

You’re an angelic snake charmer
Yeah you make me feel so nice
You’re my life and my safe harbour
You look great with dry ice
And because my love is blind
I know I’ve seen the light.

It’s the feelings that you give me
Your grace gives them to me
Cause you’re made of strength and mercy
And my soul is yours to save
I know this much is true
When my world felt like beef stew
I know the only one who rescued me was you

You give me spiritual highs
Let me tell you all the reasons why
You really make me cry
Because you’re one of a kind
Yeah, here’s to you
The one that always pulls us through
You really did what you had to do, (god)
Because you’re one of a kind.

When that spirit pours down on me
I know I’m finally free
So I tell you gratefully
Every single beat in my heart is yours to keep

You give me spiritual highs
Let me tell you all the reasons why, god
You really make me cry cry, god
Because you’re one of a kind, god
Yeah, here’s to you
You’re the one that always pulls us through
You always do what you got to do, god
‘Cause you’re one of a kind.

4 thoughts on “Worship Song

    • So, this is my attempt at a bit of Christian satire, I was careful to draft it in a way which did not speak about God in a disrespectful way, I did that by not speaking about God at all – I spoke about god (lowercase g).

      It’s target is a certain type of worship song which I think really does verge on blasphemy, where God is presented as a casual boyfriend.

      • See I thought so but others weren’t sure. It’s the problem with satire. We’ve all seen Springtime for Hitler. You really need to flag it up for most people I fear, especially the ones you’re aiming at.

Leave a Reply

