“I can’t believe that life is meaningless” – John Lloyd, BBC Producer

Comedy producer John Lloyd (QI, Blackadder) was on the Richard Herring podcast and said this:

I don’t espouse any religious faith, but I don’t consider atheism in that way as a scientific position, I don’t know whether there’s green men in flying saucers either, but I don’t go and shout at the people who think there are.

A lot of people say science doesn’t get enough of a voice in society, I think that’s rubbish, I think it gets an enormous voice, and I think that the idea that we are swamped by mad religious people is actually untrue. There are a small number of mad religious people; unfortunately they have inordinate influence in terms of blowing people up for no reason and so forth.

In terms of the business of what the point of anything is, struggle though I have for many years, I haven’t worked it all out yet, but I can’t believe that life is meaningless. Does anyone genuinely feel that life is completely meaningless? It doesn’t feel meaningless does it? It feels confusing and annoying and frustrating, but meaningless it doesn’t.

9 thoughts on ““I can’t believe that life is meaningless” – John Lloyd, BBC Producer

      • I don’t think he’s talking sense – I think he’s talking nonsense and he has gone down in my estimation
        //I haven’t worked it all out yet, but I can’t believe that life is meaningless//
        Do you think he is going to work it all out? What exactly is he going to work out? Working on the assumption that life has meaning, I suppose he’s trying to work out what that meaning is – rather circular and enough to send me loopy on the first lap.

        No thank you; I don’t want to go dizzy trying to answer silly questions that our confused monkey brains produce. We’re here, enjoy.

      • “Where is the wise person? Where is the teacher of the law? Where is the philosopher of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world?” 1 Corinthians 1:20

      • “No thank you; I don’t want to go dizzy trying to answer silly questions that our confused monkey brains produce.”

        Who told thee that thou hast a monkey brain?

  1. Enjoyed the podcast more than I expected to, unfortunately the audience seems to be laughing at jokes that aren’t there. Lloyd gets so close but then completely misses it. The overview of Genesis is very strange but reinforces the fact that if you don’t know Christ and the history of salvation then the Bible seems incredibly confusing and largely pointless. Hebrews 11 is so important in establishing what we base our beliefs on and is an unnatural struggle for a non-Christian; which is why it is always a miracle when somebody is saved.

      • Oh my God, you’re really spending your time on this stuff!
        Maybe you’re right, perhaps it is best to try and riddle out some sense, from a terrible and contrived compilation, written in pre-history.
        I would be concerned for the mental health of your children if you’re telling them this nonsense – stories are all well and good, but telling your children that they’re the subjects of some all seeing sky god (with whom you pretend to be in contact) can only be very damaging.

Leave a Reply

