Fill me up

Something striking about Samson was that despite his absolute idiocy there were moments in his life when the Spirit of the Lord came upon him, and he was enabled to achieve truly magnificent acts. The same strikes me about the beginning of Saul’s kingship, he is able to prophesy and lead the people strongly against the Philistines, but as his career advances, pride gets the better of him and the Spirit leaves him. This puts him in stark contrast to King David whose God is his Shepherd, and the Spirit’s presence with him does not seem to be sporadic, rather he walks with the Lord, he keeps in step with the Spirit, ‘the Lord was with him’. My craving and desire as a believer in this same God, is that I would not be filled with wine, but filled with the Holy Spirit. Yes, my salvation is secure, but how can I hope to achieve anything of value in my Christian life without the Spirit of God filling me continually? At one point in my Christian life I came to the conclusion that I was always filled with the Spirit but sometimes I forgot he was there, but I believe I was corrected in this thinking. It does seem biblical to suggest that as Moody said, ‘I leak’. So, it is a discipline, just like exercising… ‘physical training is of some value, but godliness has value for all things, holding promise for both the present life and the life to come.’

Leave a Reply

