Coldplay vs. Carpenters

So what I’ll do is put both artists on shuffle alternately and each song that comes up will be pitted against the other.

(I am aware that this is a highly unfair way of conducting a test, there are double the amount of songs in Carpenters but still. I have both band’s discographies! Don’t judge me, I just love torrents.)

Let’s go, we’ll do five:

  • Coldplay – ‘High Speed’ (Parachutes, 2000)

    I really like the first line, ‘Can anybody drive this thing?’ [just looked up the lyrics and apparently it’s ‘Can anybody fly this thing’!]. It sounds like a film quote or something.

    The musical content is very laid back and it doesn’t move me to my core, but it doesn’t offend me [yeah]. Nice chords I suppose, a lot of people say it’s Coldplay trying to be Radiohead OK Computer era – Subterranean Homesick Alien maybe, and as soon as you compare it to that it falls short. But it’s alright.

  • Carpenters – ‘All You Get From Love Is A Love Song’ (Passage, 1977)

    I am starting to have a bit of thing against mentioning love songs in love songs, it’s happened an awful lot in the history of pop music, most recently I noticed that a manufactured Irish girl band were doing it, it’s a bit old now isn’t it [catchy tune though]. But I suppose back in those crazy seventies it was fairly hip and with it, or maybe it was just as lame then.

    Anyway, I think that this song is catchy, happy and well produced, however once again it did not ‘move me to my core’ [what is this core you speak of!?].

    I’m gonna call that round a draw.

  • Coldplay – The Hardest Part (X&Y, 2005)

    What a strange (yet very cool) video.

    So, from not their best album comes one of my favourite songs by them. A moving memorable melody with a hooky bit that they they seem oh so able to create. Apparently the band think that it sounds like ‘Losing my Religion’ by R.E.M and I suppose the rhythm is quite similar but I actually prefer this song, despite the lack of mandolin.

    But yeah, lovely song.

  • Carpenters – Sing (Now & Then, 1973)

    It’s a Sesame Street song I hear! It all makes sense now. All the singing children and that. It’s a catchy song, but when placed in comparison with one of my favourite pop songs it makes it look silly.

Right, I’m getting bored now, which probably means you are too. I shall leave you in peace with optional listening posts of two brilliant songs:

 

 

5 thoughts on “Coldplay vs. Carpenters

Leave a Reply

