Blewog’s Firey Diary – 13/07/2010 (I’m Gonna be in a Film)

I received an email the other day from my brother. It was headlined “WE HAVE TO DO THIS!” The email contained information all about the fact that Madonna is making a new film about King Edward VIII, (abdicated the throne after falling in love with American divorcee Wallis Simpson).

Here’s where I come in…

The scene for which I am requiring real Welsh speakers is set in 1932 when the then Prince Edward, visited a poor mining area and, upon seeing the poverty first hand, is famously alleged to have said, “Something must be done!” I am looking for real Welsh speakers to portray these people living in the Welsh Village.

I sent off all my details, and I have just returned from a costume fitting for my role as a supporting artiste in this film!

The fitting took place in a place called Angels which is just down the road from us. It’s a highly historical building, and I felt extremely privileged to have seen it first hand. They recently discovered this on their rails:

Also:

Angels Fancy Dress has supplied fancy dress items to parties hosted by Sir Mick Jagger and Sir Elton John, and is regularly used by members of the Royal Family, though the controversial Nazi uniform worn by Prince Harry in 2004 did not come from Angels, as they have a policy of non-rental of politically sensitive costumes.

The place is absolutely vast and every single costume imaginable is available there.

Here’s the thing though. When the people came to see me they stood me up and looked me up and down and said “No! He’s not hungry enough to be a miner. He’s going to have to be a journalist instead.”

Showbiz rejection hurts.

But my journalist costume was so cool! I got to wear a woolen tie thing and braces and an old suit and a waistcoat and a mac!

I looked so cool!

Then I got my haircut!

I looked so cool!

Kind of like this:

mine was a bit shorter.

So it was great fun, and I felt famous for a day. Filming’s on August 4th.

6 thoughts on “Blewog’s Firey Diary – 13/07/2010 (I’m Gonna be in a Film)

Leave a Reply

