Film Review: The Last Word

It’s late and I’m tired, but I’ve just watched this film and was trying to find some stuff on the net about it and there’s hardly anything. The format I have watched this in probably has something to do with it, someone downloaded it from unreliable sources and ‘forced’ me to watch it. However I’d like to think of that means of viewership as an elaborate way of me attending an advanced screening, it’s just they didn’t know that I wanted to review it, and I wasn’t at the Sundance Film Festival, so.. yer.

A review of sorts:

1. It’s not a romantic comedy.

The way it’s presented on the DVD cover and the way it will be presented when/if it eventually comes out is as a Rom Com. It’s more of a drama with elements of comedy, I just don’t want to say ‘Dramedy‘.

2. The acting’s pretty good.

Our protagonist is played well, no hugely moving acty-bits but some very good stuff.

Winona Ryder looks good, her character is slightly underwritten, and again no potentially award winning acting moments.

Manny the Mammoth’s character is perfectly cast, he’s funny and quite good.

3. A guy called Geoffrey Haley wrote and directed it.

It seems this is his first directing job. Apparently he was a camera man on Six Feet Under and other such things. I like his writing though, and I like the fact it’s his first thing and he’s come out with something rather good. That’s encouraging for me and other budding writers out there.

4. The film as a piece is a great idea, and was a pleasure to watch from start to finish.

I’m sure they’ll be putting that quote on the poster. Actually one second, we need far more superlatives if we want a gooden…

4. “The Last Word is the finest Dramedy I’ve seen in years and was stunning from start to finish.”

Rhodri Brady, The Blewog Blog

I really do mean that though, it was really good and I hope it gets a release somewhere.

5. BTW, it’s got an awesome ending.

__________

Yeah, so look out for it, and if you get impatient buy the DVD.

Leave a Reply

