BAFTA television nominations. Some predictions.

I was going to do a whole piece about my predicitions for all the nomintations, but then I realised that I haven’t actually watched half of the TV programmes nominated!

But here are some predictions I am actually qualified to make:

ENTERTAINMENT PERFORMANCE

Stephen Fry
QI
(BBC One)
Harry Hill
Harry Hill’s TV Burp
(ITV1)
Anthony McPartlin & Declan Donnelly
I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here!
(ITV1)
Jonathan Ross
Friday Night with Jonathan Ross
(BBC One)

I know everyone hates Jonathan Ross, but I still like his chat show; maybe it’s because I’d love to have one of my own one day *cough*.

In reality this nomination for me is between QI’s Stephen Fry and TV Burp’s Harry Hill, both are now no longer secrets that a select few watched and enjoyed, they are now truly mainstream prime-time classics.

My vote has to go with Harry Hill, because it is consitently brilliantly hilarious. He is actually the only reason that ITV still exists, the only thing which can guarantee a whole family half an hour of non-stop laughing.

COMEDY PERFORMANCE

Rob Brydon
Gavin & Stacey
(BBC Three)
Sharon Horgan
Pulling
(BBC Three)
David Mitchell
Peep Show
(C4)
Claire Skinner
Outnumbered
(BBC One)

Lots of people love Outnumbered, now on it’s second series, I only watched tiny little bits of it when it was on so am in no place to comment.

As you may know, I am a big fan of David Mitchell, but never have properly watched Peep Show; the camera angles get to me.

This award has to go to Brydon, as Uncle Bryn he is easily one of the best things about Gavin & Stacey. Just full of classic lines.

"Bryn means hill in Welsh!"

I’d like Top Gear to win the Feautures award, simply because it is Top Gear.


I’d like The Peter Serafinowicz Show to win Best Comedy. Very underrated sketch show. This guy is amazing:

Brilliant.

4 thoughts on “BAFTA television nominations. Some predictions.

  1. Outnumbered is brilliant and groundbreaking. Though not groundbreaking (except for an apparent willingness to laugh at Darwin) Harry Hill is hilarious. When Jonathan Ross is good it is usuaully despite him not be casue on that tired format of a show he hosts. QI’s okay as long as Fry keeps off things he knows nothing about but is already showing signs of wear and tear. Gervais’s quit whole ahead motto needs to be more widely heeded.

  2. I loooove QI. I attribute all the useless knowledge in my mind to that show. David Mitchell is amazingly funny aaaand Top Gear is wonderful. I don’t actually watch it for the cars mind you, I just find it funny.

    And when you have a chat show, bagsy being a guest! I could talk about parks…and other things I go on and on about :P

Leave a Reply

