Music: What I’m Listening To.

Belle and Sebastian – I’m a Cuckoo (The Avalanches mix)

This is a happy remix to a happy song. I think I heard about it from Nick Hornby.

MGMT – Time to Pretend

It’s taken me a while but finally I kind of like MGMT.

Ludwig van Beethoven – Piano Sonata #8 In C Minor, Op. 13, “Pathétique” – Adagio Cantabile.

Just having that written down is a beautiful enough thing. So I hear this Beethoven guy is pretty good, he’s been playing a lot in the clubs recently and shows a lot of promise. Currently unsigned but that won’t be for too long I’m sure.

John Cale – Ship of Fools

I must name-check my good friend Anwen for directing me to this particular gem. It’s a live version (I usually avoid them) but this is pure awesomeness.

Funeral for a Friend – Juneau

I’ve listened to this track pretty solidly for more than two years. The opening riff is just irresistible.

Joseph Arthur – Redemption’s Son

I have Sibyl to thank for this discovery. I love this song mainly because of it’s melody and originality. However it also has some interesting religious lyrics.

…Jesus is my only friend
No one else knows who I am

…I know I’ll never make it on the cross
Spent my days looking for what my daddy lost
He was too proud to have a boss

…Angel of love, Shine a light on us

…Forgive us for what we’ve done, Lord.

Mose Allison – Young Man’s Blues

Heard about this track through Bob Dylan’s Theme Time Radio Hour. It’s what blues should sound like.

Bob Dylan – You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go

My favourite track from Blood On The Tracks. Beautiful.

New Young Pony Club – The Get Go

Indie, but good.

 

Leave a Reply

