Bitesize Chunks of the Past Five Days

  • Wednesday’s Midweek meeting was brilliant. Our Bible study continued in the book of Deuteronomy, it always surprises me how much we can get out of such passages. This week it was chapter 29:15-21. We were given a warning against defrauding others as well as the importance of multiple testimony then going on to the need for a thorough investigation.
  • My cousin from Cardiff was here on Wednesday, he is doing an art foundation course, so wanted to sample London’s plethora of art galleries. The only one that I could recall was a new Picasso exhibition at the National Gallery; ‘Challenging the Past.’ I might go to that at some point this week.

  • On Thursday, I made cookies. They were called Ginger Oaties they are totally my speciality and were just a tad amazen.

  • By Thursday evening, I decided to watch the BBC’s attempt at dramatising Margaret Thatcher’s rise and fall (mainly fall). I enjoyed it, and it helped me learn a bit more about politics around that time. She was the woman in power when I was born, so I suppose I should do my research. I think the best bit about the whole thing was their portrayal of John Major. He was not played as the obvious geek but instead more of a scheming underhand.

  • Friday is now my day off so I get to walk around London and do lots of fun things. I walked around Baker Streetand Finchley Road for a while, which was nice.
  • I then hopped on the tube and made my way to the BFI. I had my first go at their Mediatheque. What on earth is that? It’s a film archive viewing thing.

Using the BFI Mediatheque is easy – turn up on the day or book a viewing session in advance. Check in at the desk inside the mediatheque and then log on to a viewing station.

It’s as easy as that.

I watched an instalment of the Up series, 28 Up to be exact. I had never seen any of these documentaries, I was impressed by my first experience of it.

For those of you who don’t know:

The Up Series consists of a series of documentary films that have followed the lives of fourteen British children since 1964, when they were seven years old. The children were selected to represent the range of socio-economic backgrounds in Britain at that time, with the explicit assumption that each child’s social class predetermines their future. Every seven years, the director, Michael Apted, films new material from as many of the fourteen as he can get to participate. Filming for the next installment in the series, 56 Up, is expected in late 2011 or early 2012.

They have the whole one that I watched here. If you can spare two hours of your day and haven’t already given this a watch, do.

  • I then made my way down to Leicester Square and watched Revolutionary Road.

As you can tell if you watch the trailer, it’s not really much of a Rom Com. I thought it was fantastic. My sort of film; heavy going, not easy to untangle and a film that asks questions.

  • I had just got out of the cinema, I had some money in my pocket, walked past another cinema (you can’t get away from them in Leicester Square) and ended up going to see Waltz With Bashir.

Ok, so it’s not exactly a Disney cartoon, but it was brilliantly done. I got a chance to learn about a war I knew nothing about, and perhaps even get a taste of what they went through. It’s interesting how if it is animated it gives it a completely different feel, however there is a short segment at the very end of the film which shows the documented results of the Sabra and Shatila massacre in some news archive footage. In a way, having seen the cartoon before it, it doubles the strength of seeing ‘the real thing’.

  • I helped out in the youth club in the evening, back after a break for half term. We get twenty odd kids from around the area coming in. 80% I would say have no church or religious background at all, so it’s an amazing opportunity.
  • I met up with a few friends in the evening, I was trying to think of a way I could pigeonhole and stereotype my friends in order to describe them. There was,
  1. A British-American film buff and budding writer.
  2. A Jewish-British teaching assistant and budding writer.
  3. A British-Somalian student and Scientist.
  4. A British-British student and Geographer.
  5. A Scottish-British fashionista and Japan enthusiast.

I have no doubt I have limited and offended all of them, which is great.

  • I had a lickle bit of a lie in on Saturday morning, and spent a large part of the day in Palmers Green, with my Sister in-law and the babies. We went to the park, bought ice cream and looked around good old charity shops.
  • On Saturday evening I continued watching the best comedy/drama thing ever. My friend lent me it on DVD and I became hooked. I downloaded the rest of the Season, but will buy the DVD at some point and give money to the industry yadayadayada. Anyway it’s called Freaks & Geeks and it’s simply awesome.

 

  • Sunday was March the 1st which means it was St. David’s Day (Dydd Gŵyl Dewi Sant). Basically that means it’s Celebrate Wales Day! Woo!
  • Sunday Morning’s sermon was on Acts 13:38 & 39.

Therefore, my brothers, I want you to know that through Jesus the forgiveness of sins is proclaimed to you. Through him everyone who believes is justified from everything you could not be justified from by the law of Moses.

Vital things we need to know about forgiveness. Everyone who believes in Jesus is justified before God.

Sunday Evening’s sermon was titled Don’t Shrink Back, Rather Believe! from Hebrews 10:32-39. Points were made about our past, present and future as Christians. We may go through persecution, have much to undergo but we have something far greater waiting for us.

  • So here we are, Monday morning. An exciting week ahead of me, I wonder what could be in store?

Leave a Reply

