The Stanley Brothers – Angel Band

I’ve recently been re-listening to the brilliant soundtrack from the Coen Brothers film O Brother Where Art Thou.

This is a soundtrack that by now has reached legendary status in many circles (my family included). I even heard that Jack White of White Stripes fame was indebted to the album for much of his influence.

My particular favourite at the moment is a track called Angel Band by The Stanley Brothers. It’s a traditional ‘old-time music’ classic, but Ralph Stanley’s arrangement works so beautifully. I especially like the harmonies.

“O bear my longing heart to Him who bled and died for me
Whose blood now cleanses from all sin and gives me victory.”

Leave a Reply

