Sibyl’s Travelblog – Issue 9

Flooding.

At the time of writing this, I am sitting in a flooded internet café with water up to my ankles. Slightly disconcerting but I have not been electrocuted so far.

It has been raining for the last 3 days. Apparently it is the heaviest rainfall Vietnam has seen in 35 years. 81 people have died and lots more are trapped in areas without food or water. The aid they are receiving does not seem to be very good. I am very thankful I am living in central Hanoi and we have not been effected badly. Hoan Kiem Lake which is a five minute walk from our hotel flooded which was amazing. The lake did not have a edge – everywhere became the lake. Craig and Glenn’s university flooded – we had to wade through knee deep water, all the buses were stranded – and water reached the inside of bus. People pushed their motorbikes along and every time a large vehicle went past a huge wave of water was created (it looked as if we were standing in the middle of a river – not crossing the road.) I have taken some amazing photos that I wish I could upload onto this page, but it never works on these computers. I will try to put them on Facebook (none at time of press – Ed.)

Teaching has been disrupted lots as well. Lots of the gappers got three days off. Me and Em have had to teach, but have had very small classes. On Friday we only had three students for an hour and a half. I have not been able to teach at the kindergarten, or tutor because the roads have been closed.

Church service was also canceled due to flooding. I was very pleased that I had met the elders the week before because I got a text telling me before I left! I was very disappointed though. Hopefully next week everything will be back to normal.

Emily has been really ill all weekend – we think she got something because it was raining so much. It makes it a lot easier to pick things up. Hopefully she is better now though and might try teaching again today. At least she picked a good time to stay indoors!

Rhodri is coming to visit in 8 days! I am so excited! (Me too! – Ed) Almost to the point of hysteria at times. Hopefully the weather will be better for him. It has been slightly depressing at times – everything is damp and has stayed damp. It has reminded me lots of home though.

Photos and more news to come soon. Hope you are not getting as much rain as we are here.

(News Story Link)

Leave a Reply

