Mamma Mia! Here we go again… (Film Review)

OK, I went with my Mother and Sibyl to see Mamma Mia!

If you don’t know, Mamma Mia! is a film adaptation of the West End musical, based on the songs of successful pop group ABBA.

I don’t really know what to say about the film.

Maybe it would be better if I portrayed my feelings to the film with a series of photos, chronicling my facial reaction throughout the film.

Here we go:

Yeah, so I hope that gives you some sort of impression.

It’s not that I didn’t like it, it’s just that the only merit I could see in it were the songs. I would rather watch a docu-film about ABBA, which showed their music and charted their rise to success. The only other redeeming feature of the film was the beautiful people and the beautiful scenery.

Don’t get me wrong, they got an amazen cast. Meryl Streep (her off of Manchurian Candidate) Pierce Brosnan (I know! PIERCE BROSNAN – JAMES BOND!) Julie Walters – who I believe is a phenomenal actress, oh and Colin Firth (yeah the one who plays the same character in most films) and other recognisable faces. They acted well. It’s just all a bit bleh.

A post about ABBA can’t go by without crediting them with probably the greatest set of universally catchy hits of all time, ever. There are just so many. I grew up listening to them, as my Mum is quite the fan (who isn’t?).

I wanted to pick my favourite ABBA number and it was between One of Us (a song very rarely credited with a reggae beat) and Does Your Mother Know? I picked the latter, as the video captures the spirit, and One of Us wasn’t even in the film.

Enjoy.

If you fancy some further reading on the subject I read a great book from a great series on the actual album ‘Abba Gold’, by Elizabeth Vicentelli from the 33 1/3 series.

6 thoughts on “Mamma Mia! Here we go again… (Film Review)

  1. I’m going to see this on Tuesday. I’m quite looking forward to it, I hope it’s not too ‘bleh.’ Only time will tell.

    I apologise now for comment whoring your blog. I tend to do it a lot on blogs. Never mind.

  2. Ahh the word whore brightens up any sentence.

    I just saw Mamma Mia. I thought it was great I have to admit. It was so cheesy. But really fun to watch. I think if the songs were just random ones instead of ABBA I perhaps wouldn’t have liked it. But as this wasn’t the case, I did!

Leave a Reply

